GC 12+ Singles

The SA Singles12+ was held on the 11/11/2020 on a day that turned out to be perfect for croquet. The tournament was well contested with some stand out performances. Barbara Dietrich, from Holdfast Bay was undefeated all day by displaying a steady standard of stroke and some good tactics. She defeated Lesley Burford from Tea Tree Gulley in the playoff for the title.

It is worth mentioning were the debut performances by Elizabeth Freda from North Adelaide and John Wotherspoon from South Terrace. Look out for them to be mentioned in dispatches in the future.

Thankyou to the Referees and Aldinga Members for their help on the day


GC Women’s and Men’s Spring Singles

Millswood Croquet Club managed this event late in October at Hutt Road. Both groups played a full r/robin to establish the top 4 players and then played BO3 one-hour games to determine eventual winners.

Congratulations to Kate Logan of Victor Harbor as the winner with Bernie Pfitzner runner-up.

Barry Jennings of Hyde Park won the men’s event, with Heath Jackson the runner-up. 

Thanks to Millswood and the referees, it was a very well run event.


Golf Croquet SA Gold Medal

Ten players competed in the SA Gold Medal at SACA from the 9th to 11th
of October.  The Gold Medal is a state team qualifying event.  COVID
cancelled the interstate competition but did not dampen the spirit of
competition or the camaraderie.  The first two days was a round robin, followed
by the finals on day 3. Congratulations to Bernie Pfitzner from Victor
Harbor for winning the Gold Medal, and to the runner up, Heath Jackson
from Hyde Park.  Bob Neil Norwood Croquet Club